I Am Such a Fan Girl

I read. A lot. I’m talking about at least 500 books (or more) a year. I can rip through a 700 page book on my Nook in under a day. It takes a lot to make me sit up and pay attention to a book because I’ve probably seen it all when it comes to plot lines. What really catches my attention is accurate portrayals of characters and their situations.

As such, I fell in love with the characters in Lorelei James’ Rough Riders series. As this series revolves around a particular family and their lives and loves she is able to build complex characters and settings that bring her stories to life. So far there have been 13 books in the series, with more coming soon.

I wrote my first fan letter because of these books; and, in particular, Branded as Trouble. For five books she created an extremely flawed character that I fell in love with and hoped would get his Happily Ever After. When he did she portrayed him not as a hero but as a man who finally faced his demons and came out the other side. It was brilliant, it was wonderful, it was touching, and it was a book I wished I would have written. And so, I wrote her a letter.

Today, I got a reply; and, I squealed like a 12-year-old girl at a Twilight convention. I’m such a fan girl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

