Creating Story Boards

I started my first story board this week and then life got in the way (which, let me tell you, really does suck). So, now the weekend is here, I’m feeling better and I’m back at the story board.

For some reason know only to a secret part of my brain which I don’t have access to, I decided that I needed to create a characters story board for my first novel. What does this entail? Well, first I had to figure out names for these characters that have been swimming around in my head begging to come out. That’s not as easy as it sounds. I found the I couldn’t come up with a name for the heroine. Then, while surfing the net, it came to me. And, up she went on the board.

Now, I need visuals when I’m writing. I need to know what my characters look like before I begin to write. So, I find pictures that match what my mind is telling me. I have no idea who these people are and that doesn’t matter because they become my characters when I’m writing. They talk to me and act out scenes in my head that I put on paper (or, the computer).

This weekend my goal is to have all my main characters for my first novel sketched out and on that story board. Once that’s accomplished then I’ll be starting on the story itself and a really story board will emerge.

So, basically, I’m spending the weekend doing arts and crafts. I love my life.

This entry was posted in Writing, Writing Process. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creating Story Boards

  1. Ian! says:

    Yay! That sounds lovely. When I read “story board,” I was thinking the comic strip that’s created to map out a film. But you’re talking about more of a collage, an “inner map” if you will of the characters, yes? As you say, a visual reminder to bring you back, bolster you, guide you. Neat!

    • bpbqueen says:

      Yeah, more of a collage thing for the characters. When I get to the actual story it will be more of a story board for the book – what is happening in each chapter.

  2. Thea Landen says:

    Somewhere in the writing of my second book, I stumbled across Storybook, a free program for planning your writings. (http://www.novelist.ch/joomla/) I use it for some things more than others, but in certain areas, it’s been really helpful!

    I realize that this is probably coming across as spam, but I promise I’m not affiliated with them in any way. 😉 I just get excited when I see people who seem to like organizing stuff as much as I do! Good luck with your writing!

Leave a Reply

